The Calaveras Junior Reds novice youth football team completed a championship season with a victory in the Motherlode Valley Football League Super Bowl on Saturday, November 2 at Hughson High School.

Taking on the Ripon Chiefs, Calaveras continued its season-long dominance on the defensive side of the ball, shutting down the fifth-seeded Chiefs in a 34-6 victory.

Calaveras finished the season with an 11-1 overall record and was seeded second in the MVFL playoffs. The Junior Reds posted six shutouts throughout the season and never allowed more than six points in a game.

In the Super Bowl against Ripon, Colton Ray and Corbin Moore led the defensive effort with six tackles each; Quincy Dyson had a sack; Junior Patolo had a fumble recovery; Titan Grant and Owen Shahan had four tackles each; and Austin Lock and Payden Long shut down the Chiefs’ outside running game from their defensive end spots.

Offensively for Calaveras, Ray and Moore each scored two touchdowns and an extra point conversion for the Junior Reds; Shahan scored one touchdown; Long and Mathew Timewell each had an extra point conversion; and the offensive line was a force, creating inside running lanes for running backs and giving quarterback Aaron Koepp time to complete his pass attempts, including two extra points conversion passes.

“Everyone did their job and they did it very well all year long,” Calaveras coach Bobbi Walls said.

MVFL All-Stars

The MVFL season concludes with all-star games for the JV and varsity levels at 2 p.m. and 4 p.m., respectively, this Saturday, November 9 at Bret Harte High School in Angels Camp.

Representing the Amador Junior Buffaloes are Michael Nunes, Anthony McAllister, Marcus Scaife, Declan Browne, Talen Courts and Tristen Vasquez in the JV all-star game; and Morgan Chase and Matthew Melville in the varsity all-star game.

For the Calaveras Junior Reds, JV all-stars are Jojo Dockett, Cadin Spurr and Kodey Paulson; varsity all-stars are Scott Beadles, Johnny Coburn and Adrian Urbina; and cheer all-stars are Alexa Ortega, Evelyn Dart, Lilly Slish, Katie Hix, Amy Willis, Emily Fuller, Isabella Maldanado and Kierstyn Martinez.

For the Argonaut Junior Mustangs, Isaac Cortez and Ian McElfish are JV all-stars.